The R&A warn golfers any repeat of Phil Mickelson debacle at Carnoustie will result in Open disqualification
- Phil Mickelson was widely criticised for his behaviour during the US Open
- He hit his ball again as it rolled off the 13th green to escape a more difficult shot
- R&A chief Martin Slumbers indicated a repeat could result in a player’s ejection
By LAURIE WHITWELL FOR MAILONLINE
PUBLISHED: 09:28 EDT, 18 July 2018 | UPDATED: 09:34 EDT, 18 July 2018
Any golfers who replicate Phil Mickelson’s transgression from the US Open at Carnoustie this week will be disqualified, the R&A has strongly suggested.
Mickelson caused huge controversy at Shinnecock Hills last month by hitting his ball again as it rolled off the 13th green to escape a more difficult shot.
The US Golf Association only issued a two-stroke fine — incurring a rule that governs accidental ball contact, rather than another that looks at deliberate actions — prompting serious debate about crime and punishment.
Read more here.